HomeResearch & guides

OpenAssistant review: features, pricing, privacy and who it is for

A central personal-assistant task hub connecting an envelope, calendar, phone and checked work cards, a privacy lock, magnifier and blank price tag beside it for a balanced feature review.

The short verdict: OpenAssistant is an AI executive assistant with its own phone number, email address and calendar, and its pages document 17 of the 25 jobs in our framework, with 6 more partially documented. It is an assistant we recommend in the overall, Gmail, Outlook and 10-person-team roundups. The trade-off is price: Pro is $72 per user per month, against about $20 for the chat assistants.

We make OpenAssistant, so here is how this review works:

What OpenAssistant says it is

From openassistant.us.

Price

Plan Price What it adds, per the pricing page
Starter Free 1,000 free credits at signup, plus 100 bonus credits a day once used up, up to 1,000 a month; no card
Pro $72 per user per month billed monthly, $60 billed annually, at 5,000 credits a month Assistant email at your domain, shared assistants and tasks, credit top-ups
Team $120 per user per month billed monthly, $100 billed annually, at 5,000 credits a month Admin dashboard, SSO and SCIM, role-based access, pooled credits
Enterprise Custom Audit logs and data retention, private deployments, SLA

Source: OpenAssistant pricing; per-user pricing confirmed by 3Gen. Pro and Team let you pick a credit tier from 5,000 to 100,000 credits a month, and the price rises with the tier you pick (5,000 credits is the base shown). The page says simple tasks use 10 to 50 credits, while coordinating a meeting across several people can use “hundreds”. Built-in recurring tasks like the daily agenda do not use credits on paid plans. Annual billing gets two months free.

Security and data

From the Trust Center:

What its public pages say, job by job

The jobs are defined on our evaluation framework page. “Documented” means OpenAssistant’s pages describe the job or a named feature that does it. “Partial” means the pages describe building blocks but no feature for the job. “Not stated” means the pages we read are silent. The last column says where a competitor’s pages document the job as fully or more fully.

This table states what is published and does not score anything.

Job OpenAssistant status What its pages say Competitors that document it as well or better
1. 3-person meeting across time zones Documented Negotiates across time zones, chases people who go quiet, sends the invite (page) Skej, Howie, Clara and Blockit make similar claims at lower or higher prices (article 03)
2. Reschedule after a conflict Documented “Rebooks, tells everyone, and updates the invite” The same specialists (article 06)
3. Running late Documented Text it and “it will tell everyone on the invite” Howie also lists it
4. Standing rules Partial Autonomy modes per kind of work; how it treats an out-of-hours request is Not stated Town documents ask-first by default
5. Triage an inbox Documented Triage, drafts, digest, flags, archives junk, labels (page) Town, ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Copilot document inbox actions too
6. Drafts in your voice Documented “Drafts in your voice” Fyxer documents tone matching
7. Forgotten thread Documented “Flags unanswered threads” None document the same direction
8. Daily digest Documented Digest on your schedule Gemini documents daily digests with a freshness warning
9. Chase people Documented “Chases replies, reminds people of what they owe you” Pacing and stop rules are Not stated by any vendor
10. Remember promises Not stated Not named Not stated by any vendor
11. Prep brief Documented Researches attendees, pulls email, notes and CRM context (page) Copilot’s Researcher documents a “source-cited report”
12. Daily agenda Documented Agenda by email, text or app on your schedule Gemini documents daily digests of calendar and email
13. Phone to book a table Documented “Calls other people for you” Gemini on Pixel documents disclosure, recording and limits in detail (article 05)
14. Incoming call Documented “Can receive phone calls on your behalf like a receptionist” Cue documents taking your calls
15. Move a meeting by text Partial Texting channels and calendar documented; the flow itself is not Poke, Town and others are in the same position
16. Screenshot to calendar Documented An agenda screenshot “lands on your calendar” Skej documents the same
17. Company research Partial Browses websites on your behalf Copilot documents a source-cited report
18. Spreadsheet from notes Not stated Not named Not stated by any vendor
19. Trip, stop before paying Documented Browses to book travel; consequential actions staged for review ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Grok Bot each state how they stop before payment
20. Trip to calendar Partial Forwards land on your calendar Not stated by any vendor
21. Its own email address Documented Its own inbox; your domain on Pro; sender authentication and held requests Town and Cue also document their own addresses
22. Data use, access, deletion Partial No training; narrowest permissions; deletion begins on account delete Town states a 30 day deletion window
23. Ask me first Documented Staged for review and shown in full; account-wide stop; no AI model between approval and send Claude and Town document approval modes in detail
24. Hand a task to a teammate Documented Can share tasks and workflows; shared assistants on Pro Claude Tag in Slack, Town group texts
25. Weekly team status Partial Shared recurring tasks on Pro A multi-person round-up is not named by any vendor

How it ranks

In our ranked roundup, OpenAssistant takes first place because its pages document 17 of the 25 jobs in our framework and multiple channels, and privacy and approval controls on Pro; SSO and SCIM require Team ($120 per user per month billed monthly or $100 billed annually). It is also first in the Gmail, Outlook and 10-person team roundups. It is among the highest on price. Per criterion:

Criterion OpenAssistant Pro, from public information
Documented capabilities 17 jobs Documented and 6 Partial of 25
Vendor claims about quality Not assessed: it publishes no results for these jobs
Price for what you get $72 per user per month for Pro (the $41 to $80 band; the credit tier can raise it), higher than the roughly $20 chat assistants
Where it works Email, text, phone, calendar, and Slack (the pricing page says you can request tasks in Slack)
Privacy, security and admin No training, SOC 2 Type II, approvals before sending, and SSO and SCIM on Team

Where it looks strong, and where it looks weak

This section rests only on what its own pages say and what competitors’ pages say.

Strengths on paper:

Weaknesses on paper:

Who it looks like it is for

People whose week is full of coordinating with others: founders, investors, recruiters, sales, executive assistants (Coordinator Mode is written for them). People who want to hand over the whole back-and-forth, including calls, rather than get help writing their own emails. If you mainly want a smarter chat window, a $20 chat assistant is the better value.

Frequently asked questions

What is OpenAssistant?

An AI executive assistant with its own name, phone number, email address, calendar and secure computer. You reach it by phone call, iMessage, SMS, WhatsApp, email or the web app, and you can request tasks in Slack.

How much does OpenAssistant cost?

Starter is free, with 1,000 credits at signup, plus 100 bonus credits a day once used up, up to 1,000 a month. Pro is $72 per user per month billed monthly ($60 annually) and Team is $120 ($100 annually), both at 5,000 credits a month.

Does OpenAssistant train on my data?

Its Trust Center says “We never train on your data. AI providers are contractually prohibited from doing so.” It lists SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and CCPA.

What is Coordinator Mode?

It lets a scheduling professional, such as an executive assistant, run OpenAssistant for another person using their calendar, availability and scheduling preferences. The person shares a Google or Outlook calendar and approves a verification email.

Does OpenAssistant ask before it acts?

Yes. Consequential actions are staged for your review and shown in full before they are sent, and you can choose Ask me first, Hold for review or Autonomous per kind of work.

Try OpenAssistant

Start on the free Starter plan with 1,000 credits at signup, no card needed. Try OpenAssistant and see the pricing for Pro, Team and Enterprise.