HomeResearch & guides

Best AI assistants for meeting prep briefs (6 compared)

A concise meeting briefing folder opening beside a small meeting table, context cards and a highlighted appointment tile, a clock and magnifier showing preparation before the meeting.

OpenAssistant is our recommendation for meeting prep briefs. It is the one product here with a dedicated meeting-prep page: it researches attendees, pulls context from your email, notes and CRM, and sends a brief before the call. Microsoft 365 Copilot’s Researcher is the one to beat on sourcing.

A prep brief has one job: make the first five minutes of a meeting go well. Who is this person, what did we last talk about, what did I promise, and what should I ask. It fails in two ways: it can be generic, or it can be wrong, with a confident line about a job the person never had. The second failure is worse, so this article puts the most weight on whether a vendor documents sources and inbox context.

The jobs

Write a prep brief for an outside meeting (Job 11)

A typical request:

Prep me for my meeting with [contact] at [company] tomorrow. One page.

What a good brief needs, and so what to look for in a vendor’s documentation:

  1. Every factual claim about the person or company links to a source or can be checked in under a minute. One invented fact ruins a brief.
  2. It reads your earlier email threads with that contact, so it can surface a question you never answered.
  3. The meeting time, attendees and link are there.
  4. Three to five useful questions or talking points.
  5. About one page.

Send a daily agenda (Job 12)

A typical request:

Every weekday at 7am Eastern, send me today’s agenda: each meeting, who’s in it, and anything I owe those people.

What to look for: a schedule that runs on its own, an agenda that matches the real calendar for that day (including events added the evening before), and “owed” items drawn from real email threads.

The six products

Facts from each vendor’s own page. This is a fact table, not a ranking.

Product What the vendor says about prep and agendas Plan, list price
OpenAssistant (ours) Researches attendees, pulls context from your email, notes and CRM, sends a brief before the call; briefs “typically arrive 30 minutes before the call”; agenda by email, text or app on your schedule (OpenAssistant). Built-in Daily Agendas do not use credits on paid plans (pricing) Pro, $72 per user per month billed monthly or $60 billed annually, with 5,000 credits (pricing; per-user pricing confirmed by 3Gen)
ChatGPT Work Scheduled one-time or recurring tasks, 5 active on Plus (OpenAI); connects Gmail and Calendar (OpenAI) Plus, $20 a month (pricing)
Claude (Cowork features) Scheduled tasks hourly, daily, weekly or on weekdays, running even when your computer is asleep (Anthropic); Gmail and Calendar connectors (Anthropic) Pro, $20 a month billed monthly (pricing)
Gemini Schedules for “Daily digests of your calendar, to-do list, and emails”, up to 10 active (Google) Google AI Pro, $19.99 a month (Google)
Microsoft 365 Copilot Researcher delivers “a structured, source-cited report” from web and work data (Microsoft) Business Standard with Copilot, $28.20 a month paid monthly (Microsoft)
Town Morning briefings are a plan feature (pricing) Pro, $59 a month billed monthly (pricing)

Two things the vendors warn about themselves:

We left out meeting note-takers. They work during and after the call. This article is about before.

Who documents what

This is an editorial judgment from the linked facts, using the framework’s criteria. It gives no scores, and none of these vendors publishes results for brief quality.

Product Brief with attendee research and inbox context Standing agenda or briefing Sourcing of facts Price
OpenAssistant Documented on a dedicated page: researches attendees, pulls context from email, notes and CRM (OpenAssistant) Yes, on your schedule; Daily Agendas do not use credits on paid plans (pricing) Not stated on the page linked here $72 per user per month billed monthly, $60 annually
ChatGPT Work No named feature; Gmail and Calendar connect Scheduled tasks you set up yourself, 5 active on Plus Not stated $20 a month
Claude (Cowork features) No named feature; Gmail and Calendar connectors Scheduled tasks you set up yourself, even when the computer sleeps Not stated $20 a month
Gemini No named feature Scheduled digests of calendar, to-do list and email, up to 10 Not stated; Google warns results are prepared in advance $19.99 a month
Microsoft 365 Copilot (Researcher) Researcher writes a report from web and work data Not stated for Researcher “A structured, source-cited report” $28.20 a month paid monthly
Town Not stated Morning briefings are a plan feature Not stated $59 a month

Frequently asked questions

Which AI assistant writes meeting prep briefs?

OpenAssistant has a dedicated meeting-prep page: it researches attendees, pulls context from your email, notes and CRM, and sends a brief before the call. Microsoft 365 Copilot’s Researcher writes a source-cited report from web and work data.

When does OpenAssistant send the brief?

Its FAQ says briefs “typically arrive 30 minutes before the call”. It can also send an agenda by email, text or app on your schedule, and built-in Daily Agendas do not use credits on paid plans.

Can ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini send a daily agenda?

Yes, through scheduled tasks you set up yourself. ChatGPT allows 5 active on Plus, Claude runs hourly to weekday tasks, and Gemini allows up to 10 digests of calendar, to-do list and email.

How much does a meeting prep assistant cost?

OpenAssistant Pro is $72 per user per month billed monthly, or $60 billed annually. ChatGPT Plus and Claude Pro are $20 a month, Gemini is $19.99, Town Pro is $59 and Copilot with Business Standard is $28.20.

Try OpenAssistant

OpenAssistant researches your attendees and sends the brief before the call. Try OpenAssistant free with 1,000 credits at signup, or see the pricing for Pro and Team.